No, I Don’t Want To Hangout

If you’re getting sick of me talking so much about being single then you should just exit out of this right now.

Alright, since you know what you’re getting in to I can begin…anne

So I am 23 and single. In the ‘real world’ that’s still super young and I’ve still got YEARS ahead of me before I should even consider getting married.

Well, I don’t live in the ‘real world’ I live in the Mormon World, and not only just live in the world, but the capitol, BYU-I in Rexburg, Idaho.

To give you an idea of how THIS world works at 23 I should have been married 10 years ago, have 18 kids, and maybe a couple grandkids on the way.

Perhaps I’m being a TAD over dramatic. But in reality being 23 and single in the Mormon world is like….

damn

I see the ages in the Mormon world being similar to those of dog years.

I may be 23 normally, but in Mormon years I’m about 65. I say this because I can tell my filter is failing on me and my ability to keep my opinions to myself is pretty nonexistent.

To be honest though, being single is kinda freaking awesome.

  1. I can literally do whatever I want whenever I want without having to check in with anyone.
  2. Any food of mine is ALL MINE.
  3. I get to spend money on stupid shit without worrying about bills or real responsibilities. I mean, I bought myself $120 penguin because I could.

waddles

So really, why would I want to get married right now?

One thing that blows about being single is having to date.

Dating is the actual worst.

Although, how would I really know if dating is good or bad because I’ve never been on a date.

Let me explain, I’ve gone out with boys and had a boyfriend or two,

BUT I’VE NEVER BEEN ON A DATE.

(Yes, that is a 10 hour video of “mmm whatcha say.”)

You wanna know why? Because dating is pretty much not a thing anymore. Nope, instead we just ‘hang out.’

That’s right, I’ve been asked to ‘hang out’ quite a bit, have I ever been asked on a ‘date’?

Negative.

Let me tell you something.

I DON’T WANT TO HANGOUT.

I hangout with my friends, my family, or hell, if we’ve been in a relationship for a while , then I hangout with my boyfriend.

(Although let it be noted that dating while in a relationship/marriage is still important)

But if you find me attractive and I find you attractive I want to do more than hangout.

I genuinely do not understand why dating has turned into such a hot mess. Beside the whole “hangout’ debacle, there’s the way we treat each other.

No one is straight forward, no one just puts themselves out there. Instead we play games and try to be vague as possible until we know FOR SURE that the other person likes us. Don’t get me wrong, being vulnerable is hard. I’m not perfect at it either, but damn.

Especially the playing games.

I’m not good at playing games.

Except Disney Scene it. I’m bomb at that.

ay

But seriously, the games have got to stop.

It should not be this difficult. If you like someone-tell them, ask them on a date. Literally the worst that could happen is they say no.

And guess what? If they say no, take the money you would’ve spent on the date and…

treat

*this goes for you too, girls. ain’t no law that says the boys have to do the asking.*

